Proceedings of the International Conference on Micro and Nano Technologies (ICMNT-06), held in Tizi-Ouzo, Algeria, from November 19 to 23, 2006, are now being published in two separate parts of the Special Issue: Part I is dedicated to Microfluidics, whereas the forthcoming, Part II, will contain sections on Microelectronics and Materials.

I wish to thank our guest editors, Professors A. Benfdila, G. Ghibaudo and S. Raghu, for managing the peer review process and selection of papers to be published. My special thanks are due to Dr. Mikhail Kiselev, who kindly proof read the first version of manuscripts and to Mrs. Grilli for her contribution to editorial processing.

K. Tahir Shah Managing Editor

The African Physical Review

Volume 1, 2007

Special Issue, Part I

Proceedings of the International Conference on Micro and Nano Technologies (ICMNT-06)

November 19-23, 2006, Tizi-Ouzou, Algeria

Guest Editors
A. Benfdila
G. Ghibaudo
S. Raghu

Democratic and People's Republic of Algeria Ministery of Higher Education and Scientific Research Mouloud Mammeri University of Tizi-Ouzou, Office of the President

Welcome Address

On my name and on behalf of the University, I would like to extend my great thanks and considerations to all the partners who contributed to the organization of this conference.

I welcome all, distinguished guests and participants from all over the world with warm hospitality and friendship. I wish a good stay and benefit for everyone.

I am very grateful to the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics, especially to its director, Professor K.R. Sreenivasan for enormous help he gave us by supporting the organization of this conference, both financially and scientifically. My thanks are also due to Professor F.K. Allottey, who gave a great moral support by his long experience as a researcher and guide.

My thanks go also to the Institut de Microélectronique et Photonique (IMEP) and CNRS for their great contribution and participation in the scientific management of the conference.

I extend my most sincere gratitude to members of the Conference Scientific Board and organizers for their valuable time to review and select papers submitted to the conference.

I am respectful and thankful to our Minister of Higher Education and His Excellency, the Italian Ambassador, who accepted to raise the conference prestige by participating in its inauguration.

I must thank the local (Tizi-Ouzou Department) authorities for their contribution.

Again, I wish success for the conference and important benefit for the participants and all the contributors and sponsors.

November 6, 2006 The University President Professor R. Kahlouche

Welcome Address

The International Conference on Micro and Nanotechnologies is an international forum for presenting the latest developments in three main fields and their respective applications: Microfluidics, Microelctronics, Nanomaterials.

Its aim is to serve as a link between developing and developed countries for a permanent information exchange, transfer of technology and training; a perspective that will boost the launching of research activity in developing countries. This idea, started at first through discussions with F. Balestran and G. Ghibaudo (France), A. Cicuttin (ICTP), F.K. Allotey (TWAS). It was then followed by discussions with S. Raghu and A.Vaseashta(USA).

These discussions were made fruitful through the intervention and great help of Professor K.R. Sreenivasan, ICTP Director, who did his best to make this conference a success. We share the belief that such activities will help improving R&D and thus give a boost to economies of developing countries suffering from problem such as low standard of living.

Professor F.K. Allotey (Ghana), the dean of researchers in Africa, did not show any hesitation to put at our disposal all his knowledge and experience of leading research in his native Ghana, in order to help create a South-South forum for research and development.

When I brought this idea to Professor R. Kahlouche, the president of our university, he immediately launched an active effort to make necessary financial and administrative arrangements and continued all along the preparation time period. He even used his personal influence during many critical situations.

All the members of the Scientific Board showed a great enthusiasm when I solicited them to help us organize this event. In addition, the Scientific Board had a great influence on the success of the conference and very high quality reviews on papers that were submitted.

After all these encouragements, I initiated organizational work along with my laboratory team. The conference secretariat, greatly encouraged by the support mentioned above, made great effort for facing all these new situations in organizing such an event and learning new procedures.

I wish to thank the Algerian authorities, both local and national, for their support and provision of full hospitality for our guests. My thanks go to His Excellency, the Italian Ambassador, who happily accepted to raise the prestige of this conference by being present at its inauguration ceremony. Thanks again to the ICTP for financial and scientific support.

I wish nice and happy stay for all our guests and let them discover the local hospitality and traditions, as well as, the beauty of the country.

October, 2006 The Conference President Arezki Benfdila

CONFERENCE ORGANIZATION

Scientific Committee

Aourag H., Univ Telemcen, Algeria

Benfdila A., UMMTO, Algeria

Attari M., USTHB, Algeria

Bessalah H., CDTA, Alger, Algeri

Benazzouz D., U.Boumerdes, Algeria

Balestra F., IMEP, Grenoble, France

Boussey J., LTM-CNRS, Grenoble, France

Bandopadhyay S., NSWU, Australi

Chikouche, A. CDTA, Algeria

Ferdjani, K., Univ. Blida, Algeria

Gardenier H., Twente Univ., Netherlands

Garimella S., Purdue University, USA

Harraoubia B, USTHB Algeria

Henini M., Nottingham Univ., UK

Horváth Zs. J., MTA, Budapest, Hungary

Jain I. P., CNCE, Jaipur, India

Irudayaraj J., Purdue Univ, USA

Khanniche S., Swansea Univ., UK

Luttge R., Twente Univ. Netherlands

Montes L., IMEP, Grenoble, France

Maaza M., ITLab, Cape, South Africa

Mathey Y., Univ. Marseille, France

Niemela J. J., ICTP, Trieste, Italy

Nassiopoulou, IMEL, Athens, Greece

Oda S., Tokyo Inst Tech, Japan

Russu A., T.U Bucharest, Romania

Vaseashta A., Marshall Univ. USA

Zorkani I., Fes University, Morocco

Zaoui A, Polytechnique, Lille France

Steering Committee

Abbas Samir

Achour Hakim

Adjemout Ouiza

Ahmed-Zaid Idir

Amrouche Lila

Bennamane Kamal

Bensidhoum M. Tahar

Charif Moussa

Cicuttin Andres

Hamasse A.Krim

Laghrouche Mourad

Lakhlef Ahcene

Leffad A. Ghani

Maifi Sadia

Megharbi Ourida

Sifer Amina

Salhi Boualem

Talmat Rachida

Tahanout Mohamed